h1

A few random bookish thoughts

January 10, 2010

1. Well I must admit that I finished North and South ages ago, so that sidebar is definitely not current. I put off writing a review of it at first, because I wanted to read the introduction. Then, I wanted to copy out some notes in my journal about quotes that I flagged. Then, well I ran out of excuses. My main problem is that this book really floored me–I loved it way more than I expected to. I just can’t find the words to express everything that made it such a fantastic book, so I’ve been intimidated by the review.

2. So I what am I reading right now? For a while, it was the Wharton stories, then I read a quick thriller by “Richard Castle,” based on the TV series, Castle. I know that sounds corny, but it truth it was a fun book to read while I had a stuffy nose and it was ten degrees outside. (Also, I love the show, and the premise of a fake author writing a real book that made it to the NYTimes bestseller list intrigued me.) I keep looking at The Name of the Rose, and thinking about picking that up. But at this point, I think that I will need to start from the beginning again, even though I’m about 60% of the way through! This time I will keep notes on characters’ names. I’m currently rushing through the latest Rhys Bowen mystery–Royal Flush. I picked that up today because I was in the mood for British royalty.

3. Why was I in that mood? All because of a fantastic film that I saw last night called The Young Victoria. Everyone should rush out and see this movie before it leaves theaters! Even though I consider myself to be quite up-to-speed on all things Victorian, I must admit that my image of Queen Victoria was entirely based on her constant state of mourning and her love of all things proper. I had never stopped to consider what she might have been like in her twenties when she fell in love with the husband she missed so much. Very well acted, with great scenery.

4. I have a couple of books on their way to me–both for February group reads. One is Howard’s End, for my real life book club, and the other is Their Eyes Were Watching God for the next Classics Circuit. I’m looking forward to both of them, but I’m a bit stressed about figuring out how to balance my reading time so that I finish them in time. So that’s what’s coming up here.

8 comments

  1. I know what you mean about Victoria being embedded in the mind as middle-aged/old and in mourning–perhaps that’s partly why the movie is so intriguing.

    Glad you liked N&S–it really is a powerful book and sometimes books like this take awhile to digest.

    I have got to reread Howards End…it’s been way too long!


    • I started Howards End today, and so far I’m thoroughly enjoying it. Still digesting N&S, but this time I’ve got some words typed in a draft post, so I think I’ll post some thoughts on that soon.


  2. Lots of things I myself love.
    1.North and South One of my favourite novels and dramas
    2.Young Victoria
    I’m interested in everything Victorian and this movie was of stunning beauty
    3.E.M Forster
    He was my favourite writer in my university years, I read everything he wrote except for his short stories. I love Howard’s End and A Room with a view, but also Where the Angels fear to tread or Passage to India or Maurice. I also read The last journey but didn’t like it so much.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, anyway.


    • Wow, it sounds like you’ve read almost all of the Forster available! I didn’t really discover him until this year, but now I really intend to read everything he wrote. Beautiful writing, engaging characters, and deep thematic content. Who could ask for anything more?


  3. I’m often intimidated at trying to review books that I love! I didn’t love North & South, but I think that’s because I saw the adaptation first. *sigh* But I did adore Cranford!

    The Name of the Rose is so awesome. :D And I loved Young Victoria too-I won free tickets to an advance showing, and my mom and I both really enjoyed it. :)

    Oh, and I read both Howards End and Their Eyes Were Watching God last year-they were both wonderful!


    • There are so many good things that have been said about The Name of the Rose that I feel like I really must keep reading it! Plus I really want to know who did it! I just need to figure out how to keep the names straight.


  4. I loved Their Eyes are Watching God. It took a little while to get used to the style of dialog, but it was so worth it. It’s such a great, universal story. I would love to read more NZH, but I have so many books on my to-read list! I look forward to your review.


    • It also took me awhile to adjust to the dialogue: I had to “hear” them talking in my head before I fully understood.



Leave a Reply

