h1

And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander

December 11, 2009

This is just a short review. I bought this book on a whim, because I wanted something fun and mysterious to curl up with during a bout of snow and freakishly cold weather. I do tend to like mysteries, but I also know that I like them better when they are set in a time far away from my own. They seem less scary that way. And Only to Deceive is the first in a series of books about Lady Emily Ashton, a recently widowed young woman who lives in England during the Victorian era. She’s a great, fun character, and I found her quite funny. The mystery was, unfortunately, rather easy for me to guess right away. I was able to do this mainly because the plot was formulaic–there are two men, and one is the right Mr. Right and one is the wrong Mr. Right, but she spends most of her time thinking that the wrong man is right. Other than that, I found the book funny and surprisingly intellectual–there were tons of references to Homer and classic art that were interesting. I would definitely want to read another book in the series, especially as I’ve heard that the series gets better with time. I wouldn’t rank Emily Ashton up there with Maisie Dobbs or anything, but she’s certainly a fun character to spend a couple of days with.

Leave a Reply

