h1

Why do we read Jane Austen?

November 16, 2009

For a while now, I’ve been mulling over a massive reread project of all of Jane Austen’s work. The plan would be to start with her earliest novels and read through the whole set. Of course, along the way, I would also want to supplement the project with some essays and biographies. I just found an excellent article over at Jane Austen’s World about a book called A Truth Universally Acknowledged: 33 Great Writers on Why We Read Jane Austen. The first thing I thought is, “Wow, this will definitely need to go on my Austen project list.” After reading the interview, though, I was most impressed by how thoughtful and eloquent the editor is. If you’e ever read and liked any Austen novel, I highly recommend that you go and read it! Her words brought me back to the last time I read through one of Austen’s novels, and it made me so eager to start up my Austen reading! I’m currently thinking that my little “Complete Austen” project will take place over the course of next year. That gives me plenty of time to read her work while also spacing out all of the delightful reading.

4 comments

  1. Interesting blog! I also love reading classics and I can see we share several interests. I’ll be back soon and have a proper look!


    • Thanks! I looked around your blog too, and I also adore reading movie adaptations of classic novels.


  2. […] or amorphous projects. I’ve been putting a few ideas out there already, such as my Austen project and my James brothers project. Another one of my goals is to continue to participate in the […]


  3. […] I finally started by Complete Austen in 2010 project, beginning with Lady Susan. That is really just flying by! Which is good because I […]



Leave a Reply

