h1

Returning

April 5, 2010

I know it’s been nearly a month since  my last post, but I just couldn’t help but start writing about books again. I don’t know why I was gone for so long–I had plenty of reading to talk about! I was just in a bit of a writing rut, actually. I couldn’t think of what to say about the books I had finished reading. Let’s just dive right in now, though. Instead of feeling overwhelmed about all the books that I finished, I’d rather just chat about what I’m reading right now. I’m so excited about each and every one of these books!

Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín: This book is everything I expected it to be and more. I am so thoroughly involved in the main character’s life that I find myself doing whacky things like missing train stops. In fact, sometimes I don’t pick up this book if I know that I only have a little while to read because I have such a difficult time putting it down. I like the writing style–it’s pretty straightforward and simple, but the tone and emotions described managed to grab you. I find myself so immersed in the story that I sort of forget the writing and the author. Definitely a winner.

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas: I’m so glad that I convinced myself to sign up to read this for the classics circuit! After reading the first fifth or so during a long plane flight this summer, I unintentionally let this book sit around without finishing it. I’m glad that I picked it up again! More to say about this next month when I write about it for the circuit.

Jane’s Fame by Claire Harman: I received this as a gift this weekend (yay!) and of course started reading it as soon as I had a chance. Wow, this really fits in with my year of Austen perfectly. It has a tiny bit of biography at the beginning, which is perfect. I still haven’t decided if I want to do a full blown biography read or not; this amount of info I think will be just fine for my purposes. So far, it seems seriously well researched with loads of footnotes, yet very conversational in tone.

Ghost Hunters by Deborah Blum: This is as excellent as I thought it would be, even if it does make me think more than any of the other three books that I’m reading right now. I think this may be more of a long term read; perhaps I’ll try to read one chapter a week. I love Blum’s take on science, and how she’s not afraid to fault scientists when necessary without faulting science itself.

Sorry for the image-less post and for the rambling discussion without any in-depth serious reviews. I’m starting blogging slowly, I guess!

6 comments

  1. I’m glad to see you back! :)

    I loved Ghost Hunters when I read it last year. I wasn’t a big fan of Monte Cristo, but I did enjoy 3 Muskateers, so I’m giving Dumas another shot for the Circuit. I’ve decided on Castle Eppstein, since it features ghosts!


    • Thanks Eva!
      I have a friend who liked Count but not Musketeers–he says that they advocate different moral systems, and I’m beginning to see how he’s right. Ohhh Castle Epstein looks interesting!


  2. Brooklyn is such a great book. I really want to read more Toibin. I also liked Ghost Hunters quite a lot. I’m reading Monte Cristo for the Circuit as well and am enjoying it so far. (Just 100 pages in.)


    • I’m glad to hear that others have liked Ghost Hunters–it seems like a random sort of book, but then I hear about so many people reading it! I look forward to seeing what you have to say about the Dumas.


  3. Looking forward to Brooklyn and Jane’s Fame myself. Kudos on tackling Count of Monte Cristo–that’s a classic I haven’t done yet, but aim to sometime.

    Sounds like you’ve got a lot of meaty books on that plate!


    • Yeah, definitely some meaty books. I’m looking forward to a nice light read after I finish Monte Cristo.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

